HomeSustainability Competition for High Schools Students

Sustainability Competition for High Schools Students

When: Tuesday, April 21, 2020 09:55 AM
Where: USTFujairah
Description:

 

Sustainability Competition for High Schools Students

Sustainability is an international priority adopted by the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in the context of its 2021 vision. Furthermore, sustainability has become the main slogan of all ministries and agencies on federal and local levels all over the country. The UAE has also began to move steadily from an oil-dependent economy, as an unsustainable resource, to a green, knowledge-based economy, as a sustainable resource, that depends on the creative Emirati men and women in all fields.

In the field of energy, the mainstay of economic development and modern civilization, the UAE has taken a giant step in shifting from full reliance on traditional energy sources to an ambitious nuclear energy program, along with other renewable energy sources, notably solar power. In this context, the Masdar Initiative in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi and the Mohammed Bin Rashid Solar Energy Complex in Dubai are giant steps towards the development of solar energy, as well as hosting the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) in Masdar City at the Capital Abu Dhabi.

In the light of these efforts, University of Science and Technology of Fujairah is organizing a competition for Arabic and English secondary school students on sustainable development under the slogan "Sustainability is a National Priority".

The University invites all high school students to participate in this competition, by completing the Request Form available at the following link: (SCHSS) on University of Science and Technology of Fujairah Website: www.ustf.ac.ae/en/schss

The participant must prepare a power-point presentation, a poster or a model illustrating his/her idea, method of implementation, and present it in 10 minutes in front of an evaluation committee form the Ministry of Education and the University. Competition areas include renewable energy, water, environment and green concepts. Evaluation will be based on creativity and originality, applicability, ethical dimension and positive impacts on the society.

Deadline for application to participate in the competition is Thursday, 2 April 2020. Accepted competitors will be notified on Tuesday, 14 April 2020.  The competition will take at University of Science and Technology of Fujairah, on Tuesday, 21 April 2020, from 10 am to 4 pm.

The announcement of winning ideas and honoring the winners will take place on the competition day, Tuesday, 21 April 2020. The first three presentations, ideas or models will receive valuable prizes as well as certificates of appreciation from University of Science and Technology of Fujairah.

Contact Information:








Sustainability idea:

مسابقة الاستدامة لطلبة المدارس الثانوية

التاريخ: Tuesday, April 21, 2020 09:55 AM
المكان: الفجيرة
الوصف:

 

 

مسابقة الاستدامة لطلبة المدارس الثانوية

الاستدامة مطلب عالمي تبنته دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ضمن رؤيتها 2021، بل أصبحت الاستدامة هي الشعار الأساسي الذي ترفعه وتعمل على تحقيقه جميع الوزارات والدوائر الاتحادية والمحلية على مستوى الدولة. كما بدأت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بخطى واثقة في التحول من الاقتصاد الذي يعتمد على النفط، كمورد غير مستدام، إلى الاقتصاد الأخضر المبني على المعرفة، كمورد مستدام، يعتمد في محوره على الإنسان الإماراتي المبدع في جميع المجالات. 

وفي مجال الطاقة، عصب التطور الاقتصادي والحياة العصرية الحديثة، أخذت الإمارات خطى عملاقة في التحول من الاعتماد الكامل على مصادر الطاقة التقليدية، إلى تبني برنامج طموح للطاقة النووية، جنبا إلى جنب مع مصادر الطاقة المتجددة، وفي مقدمتها الطاقة الشمسية. وفي هذا السياق تعتبر مبادرة مصدر في إمارة أبو ظبي، ومجمع محمد بن راشد للطاقة الشمسية بإمارة دبي خطوات جادة نحو تطوير استخدام الطاقة الشمسية، ناهيك عن استضافة الإمارات للوكالة الدولية للطاقة المتجددة (أيرينا)، في مدينة مصدر بالعاصمة أبوظبي.

في ضوء هذه الجهود، تنظم جامعة العلوم والتقنية في الفجيرة مسابقة لطلبة المدارس الثانوية حول التنمية المستدامة، تحت شعار "الاستدامة مطلب وطني".

تدعو الجامعة للمشاركة في هذه المسابقة جميع طلبة المدارس الثانوية العربية والإنجليزية، عبر تعبئة طلب المعلومات الموجود على الرابط التالي (SCHSS)، بموقع جامعة العلوم والتقنية في الفجيرة، على الإنترنت:www.ustf.ac.ae/en/schss

شروط المسابقة:

يقوم المتسابق بإعداد بوستر أو نموذج أو عرض تقديمي (Power Point) يعبر عن فكرته، وطريقة تنفيذها، كما سيقوم بعرض مشاركته أمام لجنة تقييم من وزارة التربية والتعليم والجامعة خلال عشر (10) دقائق.

مجالات المسابقة تشمل: الطاقة المتجددة، والمياه، والبيئة، والمفاهيم الخضراء. ويتم تقييم الأعمال المقدمة على أساس الإبداع والأصالة، وإمكانية التطبيق، والبعد الأخلاقي للفكرة، وعوائدها الإيجابية على المجتمع.

آخر موعد لتقديم طلب المشاركة في المسابقة الخميس، 2 أبريل 2020م، وسيتم إخطار مقدمي المشاركات المقبولة للمنافسة يوم الثلاثاء 14 أبريل 2020م.  وتُعقَد المسابقة بحرم جامعة العلوم والتقنية في الفجيرة، يوم الثلاثاء 21 أبريل 2020م، بين العاشرة صباحاً والرابعة عصراً.

يتم الإعلان عن الأفكار الفائزة وتكريم الفائزين يوم المسابقة، الثلاثاء 14 أبريل 2020م، وتحصل الأفكار أو النماذج الثلاثة الأول على جوائز قيمة، بالإضافة إلى شهادة تقدير من جامعة العلوم والتقنية في الفجيرة.